AGM Election Results

Thank you for participating in NCF's 23nd online Annual General Meeting, organized and conducted entirely by volunteers. Thank you also, on behalf of NCF's thousands of members, to every candidate for participating in this election. NCF Board members serve as volunteers, to the benefit of NCF members and their community.

Below are the AGM election results.

National Capital FreeNet / Libertel de la Capitale nationale

The NCF 2016 Online
Annual General Meeting

Wednesday, April 27th   to   Wednesday, May 4th

NCF's Annual General Meeting is held online so that
as many as possible of NCF's thousands of members can participate.

Welcome to NCF's 23nd Annual General Meeting.

STEP ONE: Become Informed

  1. Reports to members -- What happened at NCF in 2015
    1. Report from the Chair (Chris Cope)
    2. Report from the Executive Director (Shelley Robinson)
    3. Report from the Treasurer (Lynn LaHam)
    4. Report from the Auditor (KPMG)
    5. Minutes of Board meetings

  2. Nominations for the Board

    The nominations period is from Friday, April 17th at 12am until Tuesday, April 26th 11:59pm.

    If you have any questions or are interested in putting your nomination forward, please send an expression of interest, including your name and NCF member ID, to no later than April 26th.

  3. Candidates for the NCF Board of Directors

    The roles of a board member: Prospective board members come from all walks of life and bring varied experience to the Board. The ability to understand financial reporting and to make business decisions is essential, and often board members have subject-area expertise, such as experience in management or law. Collectively, NCF's eleven board members have the experience to recognize and approve plans and strategies that will move NCF toward its goals.

    NCF has a 'governance' board, where day-to-day operations are handled by staff and volunteers, under the management of the Executive Director. The Board sets the mission, vision, principles, and broad policies that guide the Executive Director. The Board is responsible for employing and evaluating the Executive Director, and for monitoring macro parameters that measure the operation of NCF.

    Candidates are asked to answer three questions and to provide other information that they believe will be helpful to voters. The three questions are:

    1. What skills will you contribute to the NCF Board?
    2. What are the most important functions of NCF for its members?
    3. Why do you want to be an NCF director?

    This year there are five seats to fill, of varying term length: Four 3-year seats and one 2-year seat. Vote count will determine allocation of seats.

    The listing order of candidate names below is determined by random draw. The listing order on ballots is also random (for each ballot) and so likely isn't the same as below.

    The candidates are:

    Candidate Nominated by Seconded by
    Chris Cope Nomination Committee
    Martin Dubois Nomination Committee
    Pete de Lepper Nomination Committee
    Lauren Gardner Nomination Committee
    Diana Cantu Nomination Committee

    Click on each candidate name for information about that candidate.

  4. Annual Motions and Special Resolutions

    The Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act, which governs NCF, calls for members to consider this motion at each AGM:

    Motion: Appointment of Auditors

STEP TWO: Consider Alternatives

NCF matters of any sort can be discussed with members and candidates using the online AGM discussion group.

This year, you are also invited to meet some of the Board and potential candidates by attending an open house at the NCF Offices at 1305 Richmond Rd. Suite 206 on Tuesday, May 3rd from 7pm to 9pm.


Once the voting period opens on April 27th, enter your vote (by clicking here) for candidates and motions.

If asked, please enter your NCF account ID (eg., aa315) and your NCF password (help). You may change your vote by voting again any time during the voting period.

That concludes the formal part of the AGM.

STEP FOUR: Please Make Your Opinions Known

Your comments and suggestions make a difference and help NCF operate better. Now and any time, you can make your opinions known by contacting NCF's Executive Director, Shelley Robinson, at or 613-721-1773 ext 1001.


There were 216 voters (of approximately 5400 registered members).

All seats were by acclamation, yet as there were seats of differing term length, voting determined which candidates received which terms.

Board of Directors
Votes NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires Notes
180 bz787 Chris Cope 3 2019 Acclaimed: Three-year term
167 fy923 Lauren Gardner 3 2019 Acclaimed: Three-year term
143 fz160 Diana Cantu 3 2019 Acclaimed: Three-year term
136 fx621 Pete de Lepper 3 2019 Acclaimed: Three-year term
124 fl152 Martin Dubois 2 2018 Acclaimed: Two-year term
Motions: Annual Business
For Against Abstain No Vote Result Motion
193 11 7 5 Carried Motion A - Appointment of Auditors

Thank you for your participation

NCF is a large group of people getting together to share costs and benefits, doing something good for themselves and the community. Your participation in NCF's AGM supports the proper functioning of NCF.

Thank you,

Graeme Beckett
2016 AGM Chair

Related information

Calendar of events

Apr 17 to Apr 26 Nomination period (how to nominate)
Apr 19 11:59am Deadline for submitting special motions
Apr 25 11:59pm Deadline for submitting candidate information
Apr 27 to May 4 Voting period

AGM procedures

Do you have an unanswered question? Send email to the AGM Chair

Current NCF Board Members

The table below lists current directors (prior to the AGM). Entries with no names are vacancies to be filled at the AGM. Links in the table below display information provided by the director when they were a candidate at a prior AGM. Terms expire at the end of the AGM in the year indicated.

Meetings of the board are open to members and the public.

NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires Role
aw958 Graeme Beckett 3 2018 Secretary
fr198 Peter MacKinnon 3 2018
bz787 Christopher Cope 3 2016 Chair
fy504 Lynn LaHam* 1 2016 Treasurer
fw054 Tom Moore* 3 2016 1st Vice-Chair
fy923 Lauren Gardner 1 2016
fx720 Peter Chapman 3 2017 2nd Vice-Chair
bc839 Jennifer Berrigar 3 2017
fx714 Phil Linttell 3 2017
fy409 Robert McRae 2 2017

* Will be stepping down on May 4th, at the end of the 2016 AGM

Information about Prior AGMs

AGM Contributors

Who What
Peter ChapmanNominations Committee Chair
Graeme BeckettAGM Chair
Brian GraingerReturning officer (definition: conducts election and announces result)
André DalleVoting system administration
Jim ElderVoting system software