AGM Election Results

Thank you for participating in NCF's 22nd online Annual General Meeting, organized and conducted entirely by volunteers. Thank you also, on behalf of NCF's thousands of members, to every candidate for participating in this election. NCF Board members serve as volunteers, to the benefit of NCF members and their community.

Below are the AGM election results.

National Capital FreeNet / Libertel de la Capitale nationale

The NCF 2015 Online
Annual General Meeting

March 24 9:00am   to   March 31 6:00pm EST

NCF's Annual General Meeting is held online so that
as many as possible of NCF's thousands of members can participate.

Welcome to NCF's 22nd Annual General Meeting.

STEP ONE: Become Informed

  1. Reports to members -- What happened at NCF in 2014
    1. Report from the Chair (Mike Kelly)
    2. Report from the Executive Director (Nick Ouzas)
    3. Report from the Treasurer (Alan McRae)
    4. Report from the Auditor (KPMG)
    5. Minutes of Board meetings

  2. Candidates for the NCF Board of Directors

    The roles of a board member: Prospective board members come from all walks of life and bring varied experience to the Board. The ability to understand financial reporting and to make business decisions is essential, and often board members have subject-area expertise, such as experience in management or law. Collectively, NCF's eleven board members have the experience to recognize and approve plans and strategies that will move NCF toward its goals.

    NCF has a 'governance' board, where day-to-day operations are handled by staff and volunteers, under the management of the Executive Director. The Board sets the mission, vision, principles, and broad policies that guide the Executive Director. The Board is responsible for employing and evaluating the Executive Director, and for monitoring macro parameters that measure the operation of NCF.

    Candidates are asked to answer three questions and to provide other information that they believe will be helpful to voters. The three questions are:

    1. What skills will you contribute to the NCF Board?
    2. What are the most important functions of NCF for its members?
    3. Why do you want to be an NCF director?

    This year there are five seats to fill, of varying term length: Two 3-year seats, one 2-year seat, and two 1-year seats. Vote count will determine allocation of seats.

    There are five seats and three candidates, so all candidates will receive a seat. Your vote will help determine which two candidates will receive the two full-term (3 year) seats.

    The listing order of candidate names below is determined by random draw. The listing order on ballots is also random (for each ballot) and so likely isn't the same as below.

    The candidates are:

    Candidate Nominated by Seconded by
    Peter MacKinnon Nomination Committee
    Graeme Beckett Nomination Committee
    Robert McRae Nomination Committee

    Click on each candidate name for information about that candidate.

  3. Annual Motions and Special Resolutions

    The Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act, which governs NCF, calls for members to consider this motion at each AGM:

    Motion: Appointment of Auditors

    There is no 'special business' to be considered.

STEP TWO: Consider Alternatives

NCF matters of any sort can be discussed with members and candidates using the online AGM discussion group.


Enter your vote (by clicking here) for candidates and motions. If asked, please enter your NCF account ID (eg., aa315) and your NCF password (help). You may change your vote by voting again any time during the voting period.

That concludes the formal part of the AGM.

STEP FOUR: Please Make Your Opinions Known

Your comments and suggestions make a difference and help NCF operate better. Now and any time, you can make your opinions known by contacting NCF's Executive Director at the NCF Office (613-721-1773 ext 112, or by email to


There were 184 voters (of approximately 5000 registered members).

All seats were by acclamation, yet as there were seats of differing term length, voting determined which candidates received which terms.

Board of Directors
Votes NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires Notes
149 aw958 Graeme Beckett 3 2018 Acclaimed: Three-year term
111 fr198 Peter MacKinnon 3 2018 Acclaimed: Three-year term
83 fy409 Robert McRae 2 2017 Acclaimed: Two-year term
Motions: Annual Business
For Against Abstain No Vote Result Motion
162 3 8 11 Carried Motion A - Appointment of Auditors

Thank you for your participation

NCF is a large group of people getting together to share costs and benefits, doing something good for themselves and the community. Your participation in NCF's AGM supports the proper functioning of NCF.

Thank you,

Peter Chapman
2015 AGM Chair

Related information

Calendar of events

Mar 13 8am to Mar 20 11:59pm Nomination period (how to nominate)
Mar 14 11:59pm Deadline for submitting special motions
Mar 23 11:59pm Deadline for submitting candidate information
Mar 24 9am to Mar 31 6pm Voting period

AGM procedures

Do you have an unanswered question? Send email to the AGM Chair

Current NCF Board Members

The table below lists current directors (prior to the AGM). Entries with no names are vacancies to be filled at the AGM. Links in the table below display information provided by the director when they were a candidate at a prior AGM. Terms expire at the end of the AGM in the year indicated.

Meetings of the board are open to members and the public.

NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires Role
aw958 Graeme Beckett 3 2015 Secretary
fr198 Peter MacKinnon 3 2015 1st Vice Chair
bz787 Christopher Cope 3 2016
(vacated Aug 2014) 3 2016
fm342 Mike Kelly 3 2016 Chair
fl334 Alan McRae * 3 2016 Treasurer
fw054 Tom Moore 3 2016
bc839 Jennifer Berrigar 3 2017
fx720 Peter Chapman 3 2017 2nd Vice Chair
fx717 David Hudson * 3 2017
fx714 Phil Linttell 3 2017

* Will be stepping down on March 31, at the end of the 2015 AGM

Information about Prior AGMs

AGM Contributors

Who What
Peter ChapmanAGM Chair
Jim ElderReturning officer (definition: conducts election and announces result)
André DalleVoting system administration
Jim ElderVoting system software and web page