AGM Election Results

Thank you for participating in NCF's 20th online Annual General Meeting, organized and conducted entirely by volunteers. Thank you also, on behalf of NCF's thousands of members, to every candidate for participating in this election. NCF Board members serve as volunteers, to the benefit of NCF members and their community.

Below are the AGM election results.

National Capital FreeNet / Libertel de la Capitale nationale

The NCF 2013 Online
Annual General Meeting

March 27 9:00am   to   April 3 6:00pm EDT

Welcome to NCF's 20th Annual General Meeting

NCF's Annual General Meeting is held online so that
as many as possible of NCF's thousands of members can participate.

STEP ONE: Become Informed

  1. Reports to members -- What happened at NCF in 2012
    1. Report from the President (Gary Eikenberry, chair of the Board)
    2. Report from the Executive Director (Curtis Taylor)
    3. Report from the Treasurer (Alan McRae)
    4. Report from the Auditor (KPMG)
    5. Minutes of Board meetings

  2. Candidates for the NCF Board of Directors

    The roles of a board member: Prospective board members come from all walks of life and bring varied experience to the Board. The ability to understand financial reporting and to make business decisions is essential, and often board members have subject-area expertise, such as experience in management or law. Collectively, NCF's eleven board members have the experience to recognize and approve plans and strategies that will move NCF toward its goals.

    NCF has a 'governance' board, where day-to-day operations are handled by staff and volunteers, under the management of the Executive Director. The Board sets the mission, vision, principles, and broad policies that guide the Executive Director. The Board is responsible for employing and evaluating the Executive Director, and for monitoring macro parameters that measure the operation of NCF.

    Candidates are asked to answer three questions and to provide other information that they believe will be helpful to voters. The three questions are:

    1. What skills will you contribute to the NCF Board?
    2. What are the most important functions of NCF for its members?
    3. Why do you want to be an NCF director?

    This year there are five seats to fill. All seats have a three-year term.

    As there are five candidates and five seats with identical term, at this at this year's AGM all board seats are awarded by acclamation.

    Please proceed to the Annual Motions and Special Resolutions (see next section, section 'c', below).

    The candidates are:

    Candidate Nominated by Seconded by
    Mike Kelly (acclaimed) Nomination Committee
    Tom Moore (acclaimed) Nomination Committee
    Gary Eikenberry (acclaimed) Nomination Committee
    Christopher Cope (acclaimed) Nomination Committee
    Alan McRae (acclaimed) Nomination Committee

    Click on each candidate name for information about that candidate.

  3. Annual Motions and Special Resolutions

    The by-laws of the National Capital FreeNet require members to consider three standard motions at each AGM. These are:

    1. Motion A - Remuneration of Agents, Contractors, and Employees
    2. Motion B - Appointment of Auditors
    3. Motion C - Rules and Regulations

    There is no 'special business' to be considered.

STEP TWO: Consider Alternatives

NCF matters of any sort can be discussed with members and candidates using the online AGM discussion group.


Enter your vote (by clicking here) for candidates and motions. When asked, please enter your NCF account ID (eg., aa315) and your NCF password (help). You may change your vote by voting again any time during the voting period.

That concludes the formal part of the AGM.

STEP FOUR: Please Make Your Opinions Known

Your comments and suggestions make a difference and help NCF operate better. Now and any time, you can make your opinions known by contacting NCF's Executive Director, Curtis Taylor, at the NCF Office (613-520-9001 ext 112, or by email to


There were 146 voters (of approx 6000 registered members).

Board of Directors
Votes NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires Notes
Acclaimed bz787 Christopher Cope 3 2016 Elected: Three-year term
Acclaimed aa353 Gary Eikenberry 3 2016 Elected: Three-year term
Acclaimed fm342 Mike Kelly 3 2016 Elected: Three-year term
Acclaimed fl334 Alan McRae 3 2016 Elected: Three-year term
Acclaimed fw054 Tom Moore 3 2016 Elected: Three-year term
Motions: Annual Business
For Against Abstain No Vote Result Motion
126 2 11 7 Carried Motion A - Remuneration of Agents, Contractors, and Employees
135 0 7 4 Carried Motion B - Appointment of Auditors
125 3 10 8 Carried Motion C - Rules and Regulations

Thank you for your participation

NCF is a large group of people getting together to share costs and benefits, doing something good for themselves and the community. Your participation in NCF's AGM supports the proper functioning of NCF.

Thank you,

Graeme Beckett
2013 AGM Chair

Related information

Calendar of events

Mar 15 8am to Mar 22 11:59pm Nomination period (how to nominate)
Mar 16 11:59pm Deadline for submitting special motions
Mar 25 11:59pm Deadline for submitting candidate information
Mar 24 11:59pm Deadline for voting by proxy
Mar 27 9am to Apr 3 6pm Voting period

AGM procedures

Do you have an unanswered question? Send email to the AGM Chair, or post your question to the AGM discussion group.

Current NCF Board Members

The table below lists current directors (prior to the AGM). Entries with no names are vacancies to be filled at the AGM. Links in the table below display information provided by the director when they were a candidate at a prior AGM. Terms expire at the end of the AGM in the year indicated.

Meetings of the board are open to members and the public.

NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires Role
aw958 Graeme Beckett 3 2015 Secretary
fr198 Peter MacKinnon 3 2015 2nd Vice President
aa800 Doug Hull 3 2014 Vice President
fr786 Ken McCarthy 3 2014
ft850 Michael Weiss 3 2014
fp017 Amy Yee 3 2014
bz787 Christopher Cope 3 2013
aa353 Gary Eikenberry 3 2013 President
fm342 Mike Kelly 3 2013
fl334 Alan McRae 3 2013 Treasurer
fw054 Tom Moore 1 2013

Information about Prior AGMs

AGM Contributors

Who What
Graeme Beckett AGM Chair
Peter MacKinnon Director in charge of proxies
Jim Elder Returning officer
Mark Mielke Voting system software
André Dalle Voting system administration
Jim Elder AGM web page & software configuration