AGM Election Results

Thank you for participating in NCF's 17th online Annual General Meeting, organized and conducted entirely by volunteers. Thank you also, on behalf of NCF's thousands of members, to every candidate for participating in this election. NCF Board members serve as volunteers, to the benefit of NCF members and their community.

Below are the AGM election results.

National Capital FreeNet / Libertel de la Capitale nationale

The NCF 2010 Online
Annual General Meeting

March 24 9:00am   to   April 6 6:00pm EST

NCF's Annual General Meeting is held online so that
as many as possible of NCF's thousands of members can participate.

Welcome to NCF's 17th Annual General Meeting.

STEP ONE: Become Informed

  1. Reports to members -- What happened at NCF in 2009
    1. Report from the President (Chris Cope, chair of the Board)
    2. Report from the Executive Director (Rowland Few)
    3. Report from the Treasurer (Alan McRae)
    4. Report from the Auditor (KPMG)
    5. Minutes of Board meetings

  2. Candidates for the NCF Board of Directors

    The roles of a board member: Prospective board members come from all walks of life and bring varied experience to the Board. The ability to understand financial reporting and to make business decisions is essential, and often board members have subject-area expertise, such as experience in management or law. Collectively, NCF's eleven board members have the experience to recognize and approve plans and strategies that will move NCF toward its goals.

    NCF has a 'governance' board, where day-to-day operations are handled by staff and volunteers, under the management of the Executive Director. The Board sets the mission, vision, principles, and broad policies that guide the Executive Director. The Board is responsible for employing and evaluating the Executive Director, and for monitoring macro parameters that measure the operation of NCF.

    Candidates are asked to answer three questions and to provide other information that they believe will be helpful to voters. The three questions are:

    1. What skills will you contribute to the NCF Board?
    2. What are the most important functions of NCF for its members?
    3. Why do you want to be an NCF director?

    This year there are five seats to fill. Four seats have a three-year term, and one seat has a one-year term.

    There are five candidates, so all candidates will receive a seat. To determine which candidates will receive the full-term seats, you are asked to vote for the four candidates you believe should fill the four full-term seats.

    The candidates are:

    Candidate Nominated by Seconded by
    Chris Cope (recommended) Nomination Committee
    Alan McRae (recommended) Nomination Committee
    Gary Eikenberry (recommended) Nomination Committee
    Mike Kelly (recommended) Nomination Committee
    Don Francis (recommended) Nomination Committee

    Click on each candidate name for information about that candidate. Candidates marked with "(recommended)" are recommended by the NCF Board's Nomination Committee as best fits for NCF at this time.

    The listing order of candidate names above is determined by random draw. The listing order on ballots is also random (for each ballot) and so likely isn't the same as above.

  3. Motions (annual and special business)

    The by-laws of the National Capital FreeNet require members to consider three standard motions at each AGM. These are:

    1. Motion A - Remuneration of Agents, Contractors, and Employees
    2. Motion B - Appointment of Auditors
    3. Motion C - Rules and Regulations

    There is no 'special business' to be considered.

STEP TWO: Consider Alternatives

You can discuss issues with members and candidates using the AGM online discussion group.


Enter your vote regarding the annual motions. When asked, please enter your NCF account ID (eg., aa315) and your password (more help). You may change your vote by voting again any time during the voting period.

That concludes the formal part of the AGM.

STEP FOUR: Please Make Your Opinions Known

Your comments and suggestions make a difference and help NCF operate better. Now and any time, you can make your opinions known by contacting NCF's Executive Director, Rowland Few, at the NCF Office (613-520-9001 ext 112, or by email to


There were 215 voters (of approx 8000 registered members).

Board of Directors
Votes NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires Notes
175 bz787 Chris Cope 3 2013 Elected
161 aa353 Gary Eikenberry 3 2013 Elected
156 fm342 Mike Kelly 3 2013 Elected
144 fl334 Alan McRae 3 2013 Elected
130 ba990 Don Francis 1 2011 Elected
Motions: Annual Business
For Against Abstain No Vote Result Motion
174 10 14 17 Carried Motion A - Remuneration of Agents, Contractors, and Employees
193 2 7 13 Carried Motion B - Appointment of Auditors
180 4 15 16 Carried Motion C - Rules and Regulations

Thank you for your participation

NCF is a large group of people getting together to share costs and benefits, doing something good for themselves and the community. Your participation in NCF's AGM supports the proper functioning of NCF.

Thank you,

Graeme Beckett
2010 AGM Chair

Related information

Calendar of events

Feb 24 8am to Mar 10 11:59pm Nomination period (how to nominate)
Feb 19 11:59pm Deadline for submitting special motions
Mar 21 11:59pm Deadline for submitting candidate information
Mar 23 11:59pm Deadline for voting by proxy
Mar 24 9am to Apr 6 6pm Voting period

AGM procedures

Do you have an unanswered question? Send email to the AGM Chair, or post your question to the AGM discussion group.

Current NCF Board Members

The table below lists current directors (prior to the AGM). Entries with no names are vacancies to be filled at the AGM. Links in the table below display information provided by the director when they were a candidate at a prior AGM. Terms expire at the end of the AGM in the year indicated.

Meetings of the board are open to members and the public.

NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires Role
aw958 Graeme Beckett 3 2012 Secretary
fr198 Peter MacKinnon 3 2012
al278 Mark Mielke 3 2012
(vacant) 3 2011
aa800 Doug Hull 3 2011
fm776 Jim Nubel 3 2011
fp017 Amy Yee 3 2011
bz787 Christopher Cope 3 2010 President
aa353 Gary Eikenberry 3 2010 Vice-President
ba990 Don Francis 3 2010
fl334 Alan McRae 3 2010 Treasurer

Information about Prior AGMs

AGM Committee

Who What
Graeme Beckett AGM Chair
Mark Mielke Director in charge of proxies
John Selwyn Returning officer
Mark Mielke Voting system software
André Dalle Voting system administration
Jim Elder AGM web page & software configuration