AGM Election Results

Thank you for participating in NCF's 12th online Annual General Meeting, organized and conducted entirely by volunteers. Thank you also, on behalf of NCF's thousands of members, to every candidate for participating in this election. NCF Board members serve as volunteers, to the benefit of NCF members and their community.

Below are the AGM election results.

National Capital FreeNet / Libertel de la Capitale nationale

The NCF 2005 Online
Annual General Meeting

March 30 8:00am   to   April 13 6:00pm (Ottawa time)

NCF's Annual General Meeting is held online so that
as many as possible of NCF's thousands of members can participate.

Welcome to NCF's twelfth Annual General Meeting.

STEP ONE: Become Informed

  1. Reports to members -- What happened at NCF in 2004
    1. Report from the President (Chris Cope, chair of the Board)
    2. Report from the Executive Director (John Selwyn)
    3. Report from the Treasurer (Michael Fletcher)
    4. Report from the Auditor (KPMG)
    5. Minutes of Board meetings

  2. Candidates for the NCF Board of Directors

    The roles of a board member: Prospective board members come from all walks of life and bring varied experience to the Board. The ability to understand financial reporting and to make business decisions is essential, and often board members have subject-area expertise, such as experience in management or law. Collectively, NCF's eleven board members have the experience to recognize and approve plans and strategies that will move NCF toward its goals.

    NCF has a 'governance' board, where day-to-day operations are handled by staff and volunteers, under the management of the Executive Director. The Board sets the mission, vision, principles, and broad policies that guide the Executive Director. The Board is responsible for employing and evaluating the Executive Director, and for monitoring macro parameters that measure the operation of NCF.

    Candidates are asked to answer three questions and to provide other information that they believe will be helpful to voters. The three questions are:

    1. What skills will you contribute to the NCF Board?
    2. What are the most important functions of NCF for its members?
    3. Why do you want to be an NCF director?

    This year, there are four seats to fill. Three seats have three-year terms, and one seat has a two-year term. There are four candidates, so all candidates will receive a seat. To determine which candidates will receive the full-term seats, you are asked to vote for the three candidates you believe should fill the three full-term seats (and the remaining candidate will receive the two-year seat).

    The candidates for the Board of Directors are:

    Candidate Nominated by Seconded by
    Tony McNeill (recommended) Nomination Committee
    Mary Anne Dugmore (recommended) Nomination Committee
    Gary Eikenberry (recommended) Nomination Committee
    Elaine Condos (recommended) Nomination Committee

    The order of candidate names above has no significance and is determined by random draw.

    'Click' on each candidate name for information about that candidate. Candidates marked with "(recommended)" are recommended by the NCF Board's Nomination Committee as best fits for NCF at this time.

  3. Motions (annual and special business)

    The by-laws of the National Capital FreeNet require members to consider three standard motions at each AGM. These are:

    1. Motion A - Remuneration of Agents, Contractors, and Employees
    2. Motion B - Appointment of Auditors
    3. Motion C - Rules and Regulations

    There is no 'special business' to be considered.

STEP TWO: Consider Alternatives

You can discuss issues with members and candidates using an AGM online discussion group.


When you click on this link to vote, a pop-up box should appear. Please enter your NCF account ID (eg., aa315) and your password (more help). You should then see the AGM voting ballot web page. You may change your vote by voting again any time during the voting period.

Candidate names appear on the ballot in random order.

That concludes the formal part of the AGM.

STEP FOUR: Please Make Your Opinions Known

Your comments and suggestions make a difference and help NCF operate better. Now and any time, you can make your opinions known by contacting NCF's Executive Director, John Selwyn, at the NCF Office (520-2600 ext 8024, or by email to


There were 253 voters (of approx 8600 registered members).

Board of Directors
Votes NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires Notes
176 ff377 Elaine Condos 3 2008 Elected: Three-year term
169 er983 Mary Anne Dugmore 3 2008 Elected: Three-year term
161 ff231 Tony McNeill 3 2008 Elected: Three-year term
153 aa353 Gary Eikenberry 2 2007 Elected: Two-year term

Directors are elected for a term of three years. However, to provide for rotation, initially one third were elected for one year, one third for two years and one third for three years. Any vacancy on the board that occurs mid-term may be filled by appointment by a majority vote of the board of directors until the next Annual General Meeting. At that time, the members elect a director to fill the remaining years of the term. The candidate with the most votes receive the longest term until all positions are filled.

Motions: Annual Business
For Against Abstain No Vote Result Motion
186 16 18 33 Carried Motion A - Remuneration of Agents, Contractors, and Employees
207 4 10 32 Carried Motion B - Appointment of Auditors
185 17 15 36 Carried Motion C - Rules and Regulations

Thank you for your participation

NCF is a large group of people getting together to share costs and benefits, doing something good for themselves and the community. Your participation in NCF's AGM supports the proper functioning of NCF.

Thank you,
Mark Mielke
2005 AGM Chair

Related information

Calendar of events

Mar2 8am to Mar17 11:59pm Nomination period (how to nominate)
Mar2 11:59pm Deadline for submitting special motions
Mar27 11:59pm Deadline for submitting candidate information
Mar29 11:59pm Deadline for voting by proxy
Mar30 8am to Apr13 6pm Voting period

AGM procedures

Do you have an unanswered question? Send email to Mark Mielke, AGM Chair, or post your question to an AGM online discussion group.

Current NCF Board Members

The table below lists current directors (prior to the AGM). Entries with no names are vacancies to be filled at the AGM. Links in the table below display information provided by the director when they were a candidate at a prior AGM. Terms expire at the end of the AGM in the year indicated.

Meetings of the board are open to members and the public.

NCF ID Name Term (yrs) Expires  
dt820 Sandy Campbell 3 2007 Secretary
bz787 Christopher Cope 3 2007 President
ba990 Don Francis 2 2007
ez191 Shing Lee 3 2007
aw958 Graeme Beckett 3 2006
  (vacant seat) 3 2006  
bi195 Michael Mei 3 2006  
al278 Mark Mielke 3 2006  
er983 Mary Anne Dugmore 2 2005
aa353 Gary Eikenberry 3 2005 1st Vice-President
cm324 Michael Williamson 3 2005

Information about Prior AGMs

AGM Committee

Who What
Mark Mielke AGM Chair
Michael Mei Director in charge of proxies
André Vellino Returning officer
Mark Mielke Voting system software
André Dalle Voting system administration
Jim Elder AGM web page & software configuration