National Capital FreeNet / Libertel de la Capitale nationale

NCF Board of Directors
Minutes of Meeting
April 16, 2002


Minutes of a meeting of the Board of Directors

Held on April 16, 2002 at 7:00 pm
at Billings Room, Ottawa City Hall
111 Lisgar Street, Ottawa

The meeting was called to order at 7.10 p.m. with Chris Cope as Chair and Sandy Campbell as Secretary.


    Board members present:
    Graeme Beckett (aw958)
    Sandy Campbell (dt820), Secretary
    Christopher Cope (bz787), President/chair
    Gary Eikenberry (aa353)
    Mark Mielke (al278)
    John Wenuk (ep585)
    Mary Anne Dugmore (er983)
    Don Francis (ba990)
    Andrea Holland (es170)

    Cathy Wenuk
    Michael Williamson

    NCF Management/Staff present:
    Ian MacEachern (bi207), Executive Director
    Andre Dalle (al178), System Administrator

    Getting to know one another better:
    Chair Chris Cope introduced a new feature to the "Introductions" segment of the meeting to help Directors and Staff get to know one another a little better. All took turns offering a brief "bio" covering personal background, life and career experience, family, hobbies, views on NCF, etc. The exercise will be repeated next month to cover several Directors who missed out this time.

    (see minutes of prior month)

    MOTION: That minutes be approved as published.
    Moved by: John Wenuk
    Seconded by: Gary Eikenberry
    VOTE: All in favor

    (see draft agenda)

    MOTION: That the agenda be adopted as published.
    Moved by: Andrea Holland
    Seconded by: John Wenuk
    VOTE: All in favor


    1. Ownership of NCF: Local or global (Jim Elder)
      This item was carried forward from the March meeting.
      (See Jim Elder's discussion paper prepared for the Board)

      MOTION: That the Board, agreeing that the purpose and mission of National Capital FreeNet is to benefit the people of the National Capital region, instruct the Executive Director to develop a plan aimed at preserving the regional nature and ownership of National Capital FreeNet.
      Moved by: Gary Eikenberry
      Seconded by: Mark Mielke
      VOTE: All in favor


    1. Treasurer's Report (David Millman)
      (see accompanying report and financial statements for prior month)

      David Millman, having retired as a Director, has carried on as Treasurer until a successor is appointed. His report is posted online.

      Treasurer Millman explained that sharp fluctuations on the monthly balance sheet are due to the changeable state of accounts receivable. Cash on hand was down in March, but receivables had grown. Receivables under SmartCap and HRDC contracts will shortly turn into cash and cash on hand figures will return to near budget projections.

      MOTION: That the report be adopted as published.
      Moved by: Graeme Beckett
      Seconded by: Gary Eikenberry
      VOTE: All in favor

  6. Executive Director's Report (Ian MacEachern)
    (see accompanying report)

    MOTION: That the report be accepted as published.
    Moved by: Graeme Beckett
    Seconded by: Andrea Holland
    MOTION: All in favor (John Wenuk abstained)

  7. Executive Committee Report (Chris Cope)
    (see accompanyin g report)

    MOTION: That the report be accepted as published.
    Moved by: Don Francis
    Seconded by: Mary Anne Dugmore
    VOTE: All in favor


    1. Modem access analysis and recommendation (Ian MacEachern)
      (See accompanying report for more details of plan.)

      MOTION: That the Board accept the Executive Director's recommendation and authorize him, contingent on receipt of the refund for the 3Com equipment, to embark on a major upgrade of NCF's core dial-up facilities as outlined in his analysis and recommendation.
      Moved by: Sandy Campbell
      Seconded by: Mark Mielke
      VOTE: All in favor

  9. Announcements
    1. ED Ian MacEachern told the meeting he has been nominated as a candidate for election to the Board of Directors of CIRA (Canadian Internet Registration Authority.) Vote will be conducted in June.

    May 21, 2002 at 7 p.m.
    Location to be announced

  11. IN CAMERA (ED contract)

    MOTION: That the Board appoint a committee consisting of Chris Cope, Gary Eikenberry, and Sandy Campbell to negotiate a remuneration package for the Executive Director, based on the terms of the current contract, which expired Dec. 31,2001, plus a bonus based on an increase in the total membership donations for 2002, to be presented to the Board for acceptance.
    Moved by: Sandy Campbell
    Seconded by: Mark Mielke
    VOTE: All in favor


    The meeting adjourned at 10.25 p.m.