National Capital FreeNet / Libertel de la Capitale nationale

NCF Board of Directors
Minutes of Meeting
December 18, 2001


Minutes of a meeting of the Board of Directors

Held on December 18, 2001 at 7:00 pm
at Ottawa City Hall
111 Lisgar Street

The meeting was called to order at 7.00 p.m. with Chris Cope as Chair and Sandy Campbell as Secretary.

Minute-Taker: Sheila Alder (bw306)


    Board members present:
    David Millman (aa342), Treasurer
    Graeme Beckett (aw958)
    Sandy Campbell (dt820), Secretary
    Christopher Cope (bz787), President/chair
    Gary Eikenberry (aa353)
    Catherine Wenuk (ep584), 2nd Vice-President
    John Wenuk (ep585)
    Regrets:Mark Mielke (al278

    NCF Staff/Management present:
    Ian MacEachern (bi207), Executive Director
    Sheila Alder (bw306), Office Manager
    Andre Dalle (al178), System Administrator

    NCF members present:
    Deborah Jackson (ax867)
    Jim Elder (aa456)
    Joan Line (ep600)
    Luke Waite (eq070)

    (see minutes of prior month)

    MOTION: That minutes be approved with amendment requested by Graeme Beckett to 6 c) indicating that he abstained rather than voting against motion.
    Moved by: Sandy Campbell
    Seconded by: John Wenuk
    VOTE: All in favor

    (see draft agenda)

    under New Business: 6 d) Birthday party


    NCF Strategy for 2002, ED Ian MacEachern

    There was lengthy discussion on the motion deferred from last month's meeting to approve the document in principle. A 'friendly amendment' was accepted to remove the specific 'target' numbers from the document and replace them with more realistic and achievable targets, acceptable to the E-D and to the Board.

    MOTION: That the Board accept the overall recommendations contained in the strategy document.
    Moved by: Sandy Campbell
    Seconded by: John Wenuk
    VOTE: All in favor


    1. Treasurer's Report (David Millman)
      (see accompanying report and financial statements for prior month)

      David Millman's summary showed a "wonderful" 40% increase in renewal donations, but he warned that such peaks have historically been cyclical and no reason for complacency. Although down from the end of the previous month, cash position was 55% above budget.

      MOTION: That the report be adopted as published.
      Moved by: Sandy Campbell
      Seconded by: John Wenuk
      VOTE: All in favor

    2. Executive Director's Report (Ian MacEachern)
      (see accompanying report)

      MOTION: That the report be accepted as published.
      Moved by: Graeme Beckett
      Seconded by: Gary Eikenberry
      VOTE: All in favor.

    3. Executive Committee Report (Chris Cope)

      The Committee did not meet in the previous month.


    1. Annual General Meeting

      MOTION: That the dates for the 2002 AGM be as follows:
      * Nominations open Tuesday, Feb. 5 at 8.00 a.m. EST
      * Deadline for submission to Board of special motions for AGM Tuesday, Feb. 5 at 11.59 p.m. EST
      * Nominations close Tuesday, Feb. 19 at 11.59 p.m. EST
      * Voting begins Tuesday, Feb. 26 at 8.00 a.m. EST
      * Voting ends Tuesday, March 12 at 6.00 p.m. EST
      Moved by: Sandy Campbell
      Seconded by: John Wenuk
      VOTE: All in favor.

      There was discussion of finding volunteers to carry out the various AGM duties: Jim Elder offered to handle "software" issues, including creating a method to 'randomize' the order of candidates names on the ballot; the Board also accepted his offer to make a presentation on "approval voting" to the January Board meeting.

      MOTION: That President Chris Cope be appointed Chair of the AGM committee, with power to add members.
      Moved by: Sandy Campbell
      Seconded by: David Millman
      VOTE: All in favor.

    2. Draft budget for 2002

      MOTION: That the draft budget be accepted as presented.
      Moved by: Graeme Beckett
      Seconded by: Gary Eikenberry
      VOTE: It was agreed to table the motion to the January meeting to allow time for changes and modifications which emerged from lengthy discussion.

    3. Volunteer of the Year

      Joan Line (ep600) was honored as NCF Volunteer of the Year. Sheila Calder gave details of the yeoman work Joan does in backstopping her in the office. Certificates were presented by ED Ian MacEachern to Joan and Volunteers of the Month Deborah Jackson (ax867) and Luke Waite (ep600). See photos at

    4. NCF Birthday Party

      ED Ian MacEachern reported that an event-planning company is assisting with special arrangements for the upcoming party. Details will be provided as soon as possible.


    January 15, 2002 at 7 p.m.
    Location to be announced


    The meeting adjourned at 10.15 pm.